R26A Synaesthesia
Mark Sheeky

Detail from Synaesthesia Detail from Synaesthesia Detail from Synaesthesia

Track listing
1. Space Infinity (2:33)
2. The Runner (6:11)
3. Safe House (0:59)
4. Interference (2:24)
5. Refuge (3:42)
6. Termination (4:43)
7. Waltz Of The Ghosts (4:09)
8. The Journey (0:27)
9. Resurrection (4:10)
10. Islands Of Memory (3:40)
11. Epitaph (2:24)

About this album
Synaesthesia is an electronic concept album. This was my first serious attempt at an album sized composition, and was influenced in style and form by Jean-Michel Jarre albums such as Rendezvous and Chronologie.

The music tells the unconscious story of a journey, from the vast blackness of space, through life, energetic and peaceful, through fantastical worlds to death and beyond. The music is a rich and melodic sound-scape that has to power to transport you to another world.

Its origins date back to the mid-nineties, and music that I composed on an Ensoniq ESQ-1 synthesizer and recorded on tape. In 1999 I recorded a version on a Yamaha synthesizer that was almost entirely new, but I was frustrated by the technical limitations, so in 2002 I resequenced most of the album using the earliest draft of my custom designed software, Noise Station. In 2015, I decided to remaster Synaesthesia and re-record the tracks using my latest technology to prepare for a worldwide digital release.